top of page

Happy place


Lets Start in our kitchen as it is one of the rooms that i spend the most time in! If you have not read "About me" then you wouldn't know that the hubs and i have been dreaming of building our farmhouse house since 2009 we finally broke grown in 2016! You read that right 7 long years of knowing just what we wanted! When it came to designing our kitchen I knew exactly how i wanted our kitchen to look. Somehow I had to convenience my sweet husband of the same vision which consisted Of light yellow welcoming walls and antique white cabinets was the way to go! See i'm a little Obsessed with 1950's farmhouse which the majority of these houses consist of this color scheme! As you can see he finally started seeing my vision and thankfully agreed! We wanted our home to be filled with natural light. Airy light & bright colors! When someone walks through our front door i want them to feel light, happy & at home!

See the faucet? I know you are probably like why is she typing about the faucet? I wanted to use this as a prime example of our way of thinking when it comes to design! See our contractor had installed a beautiful brand spanking new kitchen faucet with all of its fancy bells & whistles! But i wanted this faucet, our faucet, our old faucet! My father-in-law gained his angel wings before we started the process of our build! He bought us this faucet to put in our old house when our son was born! He told me he wanted us to have a faucet that was up high so when i gave his grandson sink baths it would be easier! That is the type of pieces that fill our home pieces that have history, our family history!

pipe shelving is everywhere in our home! Why pipe shelving? I cant say its the cheapest route or the most easiest way to go but i can tell you that we love the feel of open shelves anchored to our walls with rusted pipes & flanges!

In our floor plan it was a most to have a breakfast nook! A place where our little family of 4 could enjoy our nightly dinners as a family. The table was a dumpster find (not kidding) my husband called me one day with excitement in his voice that he stumbled across this wood table that he couldn't wait to show me! Boy was he right the table was the perfect fit for us! our chairs? im a mix match freak! They had to resemble in a way (the iron and wood grain) but not be the same!

You can see the colors of our home is this picture side by side! The majority of our home is a soft & light gray called Chicago fog by behr

Our coffee station! Yes, coffee is a must for the Benson house hold to run! It deserves its own designated spot! The bottom of our coffee station is a vinatge pie safe that my childhood bestfriend (more like sister) mother gave to us as a haouswarming gift. Behind the pie safe is my moms & aunts childhood home front door with of course a added pipe shelve


  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page